semperscribe

Reading. Writing. Simply being.

Review of Annabel, by Kathleen Winter

Told from a 3rd person omniscient narrator, Annabel is about a hermaphrodite raised as a boy, only to later feel more feminine and thus confused.  I appreciated that Winter told this story from the point of view of everyone involved:  the mother, the father, the friend, the hermaphrodite.  I wanted to read this book because hermaphroditism (-ism seems just wrong to use, but for the sake of medical terminology let’s stick with it) is something with which I am only acquainted.  And, while I am still no expert, I have learned.  The book stays up to speed with adequate rises and falls in plot.  My only complaint is the last line (Annabel_Kathleen_Winterwhich I will leave out because I don’t want to spoil anything) but, let’s just say it was forced and I simply could have done without it.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 27, 2012 by in Uncategorized.

Goodreads

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,093 other followers

