semperscribe

Reading. Writing. Simply being.

The Absolutely True Diary of A Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie

part-time

 

I read this book with my Reading Development class.  Warning, it is argumentably an inappropriate book for school.  But, not one of my student disliked the book. NOT ONE!  So, I’m glad I took the chance.  Why inappropriate?  There’s profanity, there’s reference to masturbation, there’s bulimia, there’s racism, and the word boner shows up.  Now, that all being said of course my students liked the book because it is real.  They could relate.  Sherman Alexie knows just how to draw a reader in without him knowing it.  My students (who are reading below level, most of them well below level) WANTED to read the whole period.  Some of them begged to read the whole period.  In my book that is a win!  Arnold Spirit Junior relates the youth.  His experiences crossed paths with my students in many ways.  I couldn’t have chosen a better book for them.

“I used to think the world was broken down by tribes,’ I said. ‘By Black and White. By Indian and White. But I know this isn’t true. The world is only broken into two tribes: the people who are assholes and the people who are not.”

“I think all of us are always five years old in the presence and absence of our parents.”

“Life is a constant struggle between being an individual and being a member of the community.”

 

“Do you understand how amazing it is to hear that from an adult? Do you know how amazing it is to hear that from anybody? It’s one of the simplest sentences in the world, just four words, but they’re the four hugest words in the world when they’re put together.

You can do it.”

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 9, 2017 by in book review, culture, Reading, Writing and tagged , , , .

Goodreads

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,093 other followers

