semperscribe

Reading. Writing. Simply being.

The Sleepwalker by Chris Bohjalian

sleepwalker

I picked this book up because I read somewhere that it was a creepy novel that couldn’t be put down.  It wasn’t a very deep novel.  The surface of it is simply a mother with parasomnia disappears one night and her daughter tries to find out what happened to her.  It didn’t find it intellectual, but it was intriguing at first because I have little background knowledge about the topic and science behind sleepwalking.  The foreshadowing kept me going, but about halfway the book got…..well, weird.

Without giving anything away, I’ll just say I never would have thought so many things would be packed into a novel of this size–yet, I was still bored.  The hypotheses that were presented in regards to the missing mother were a little off of the wall.  I think I would have liked it better if it had more science or forensics and less love story and family mystery (if you want to call it that).  And, sadly I don’t have any quotes to share–and I do not recommend this book.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 27, 2017 by in book review, Reading, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged .

Goodreads

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,093 other followers

