The number one question I had while going into this book was, “Is all the talk worth it?” I had heard about the book on the radio, read raving reviews, overheard colleagues talk about it, and then a friend handed me the softcover and said, “You’ve go to read this.” So, here we go. Was it worth it?

YES! I read this book in three days–when you have three children to run around, I’d say that’s impressive. I couldn’t put it down. I read it between baseball innings, next to the baby pool, in the passenger seat going to run errands. It just stayed in my purse.

There is a caveat–lots of sex. I mean, lots. It felt a little wrong reading it at the little league ballpark. It can read a bit like Fifty Shades of Gray in its graphic nature, but combine that with the lurking evil in What Lies Beneath and the air of apparitions in Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier. In Verity, an up-and-coming author, Lowen Ashleigh, is asked to finish a book series begun by Verity Crawford, who was in a car accident that left her severely injured and unable to finish. Trauma has plagued the Crawford family, not just Verity. As Lowen sifts through Verity’s office to prepare for the book series she’s hired to finish, she comes across Verity’s damning autobiography that exposes the truth behind the many family accidents.

It’s an easy read comprised of hot sex and psychological thrills. Even for the sleuth’s eye, however, no one will see the ending coming. Just when you think it’s over, it’s not.

Leave a comment

Trending